Negative Space

I think an important design aspect I should consider is negative space. Negative space is generally the empty or open space around an object that defines it. I think that if my animation is based in the deep sea, then there should be an emphasis on it’s size- if I did have a character that falls in/ gets lost, then I think the aesthetic would look really good.

I think a problem I have is making my designs and animation scenes too crowded, using this technique to simplify it could make it better and create more meaning.

Here are some examples of negative space:

Ale M- Flying far, far away

Tang Yau Hoong

Philipp Rietz- Painting The Universe

I think that although most negative space designs are used for logos to cleverly play on what the company sells, including this in my design would make help it visually.

This entry was posted in Animation Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment